“next” (Official Album Trailer)

1. next (feat. Nile Rodgers) 3:10

2. Night Train to Sofia 4:21

3. Gardens of Varanasi 5:54

4. Turn Left At San Pancho 4:29

5. I Can’t Make You Love Me 5:37

6. On Mother’s Day 2:53

7. Half a Cookie 4:22

8. Ibiza Sunrise 4:04

9. Avenue D 4:23

10. The Mystery of B 5:26

11. Heroes (feat. Jeff Taboloff) 3:42

12. And We Dance 3:50

With his newest album, next, Jeff brings his horn front and center – you’ll hear his unmistakable tone floating over these 12 new tracks like never before. For Jeff, this album is about rebirth and change, and tells the story of what’s next for him, both as a musician and in his life.

“next is about claiming who I am, and who I’ve always wanted to be,” says Jeff. “It’s why I live. It takes strength and power to step out into the unknown. Not everyone opens the door and takes the risk to try something new, something you’ve dreamed of for years. And with uncertainty comes the joy of freedom. This album represents my moment to truly make a statement…to claim my place as a musician with something important to share.”

With next, Jeff creates a new genre – New Age Ambient Funk – and along for the ride are guitarist Nile Rodgers (Chic, Daft Punk, David Bowie, Madonna) on the title track, and five songs created during an epic session with the duo of drummer Bernard “Pretty” Purdie and bassist Chuck Rainey – musicians that he has admired and respected for his entire music career.

releases 14 April 2015

Produced by Will Ackerman, Tom Eaton and Jeff Oster

Mixed by Tom Eaton

Recorded at Imaginary Road Studios, Windham County, VT

Additional recording at:

Jankland Recording, Wall, NJ
Universal Noise Storage, Newburyport, MA
Funk and Disorderly Studios, Oakland, CA
Taylor Barefoot Productions, Brighton MA
Sweetgrass Music/The Bin, Chester, MT
Magic Cottage Studios, Lagunitas, CA
Raveolution Studios, Bangalore, India
Le Crib, Westport, CT

Nile Rodgers appears courtesy of Warner Records

©℗ 2015 Retso Records